Aurinkokehrä Naturally Dyed Fingering 100g

€18.95

Stock: 5

Aurinkokehrä is a worsted spun, hand-dyed, fingering weight yarn made entirely from Finnish wool, of which at least 70% is from the Finnsheep breed. The Finnsheep is unusual amongst northern European short-tail breeds in that its wool is particularly soft, with a well-defined crimp and a lustre usually only found in longwool breeds.

The Finnsheep can vary in colour from white right through to black, and the range of natural shades create the base for the Aurinkokehrä colour palette. All the dyes used in the production of this yarn are ethically and ecologically produced by a company in France, and most of them are GOTS certified. Dyes are fixed using alum, a non-toxic mordant. A beautiful, soft and completely ethical hand-dyed yarn.

Country of origin: Finland

Fibre: 100% Finnish wool

Type: 4 Ply

Weight: 100gm

Length: 360m

Tension: 24 sts & 34 rows = 10cm

Needle size: 3 - 3.5mm

Care: Gentle handwash with a neutral detergent. Attn: due to the slower process of natural dying, it can take longer for dyes to set, and as a result colours may bleed on first wash. This should not stain other textiles as there is no chemical mordant present.

Aurinkokehrä Fingering Teinture Naturelle 100g

€18.95

Stock: 4

Aurinkokehrä est un fil fin de type fingering, filé en worsted et teint à la main. Il est composé à 100 % de laine finlandaise, dont au moins 70 % est issu de la race Finnsheep (mouton Finnois). Le mouton Finnsheep est une race inhabituelle parmi les races à queue courte du nord de l’Europe, car sa laine est particulièrement douce, avec un crimp bien défini et une brillance qu’on ne trouve généralement que dans les races à laine longue.

Les couleurs du Finnsheep varient du blanc jusqu’au noir, et cette palette de couleurs naturelles est la base de la variété des tons de l’Aurinkokehrä. Toutes les teintures utilisées dans la production de ce fil sont produites de façon éthique et écologique par une entreprise française, et la plupart sont certifiées GOTS. Les teintures sont fixées avec de l’alum, un mordant non toxique. Au total, c’est donc un fil teint à la main magnifique, doux et complètement éthique et écologique.

Pays d'origine:  Finlande

Composition:  100% Laine finlandaise

Catégorie:  4 Ply

Longueur: 360m

Poids:  100g

Diam. aiguille:  3 - 3.5mm

10cm:  24 m & 34 rgs

Lavage doux à la main, avec un savon neutre. Attention, du fait du processus plus long des teintures naturelles, les couleurs peuvent être plus longues à se fixer et certaines pourront dégorger lors du premier lavage. Mais du fait de l’absence de mordant chimique cela ne devrait pas tacher vos autres textiles.